This concert celebrates the 125th anniversary of one of Russia's most eminent
composers, Sergey Prokofiev (1891-1953). An all-Prokofiev programme, it
includes his Sonata for two violins, Op. 56, Five Akhmatova Poems, Op. 27, 
Violin and Piano sonata, Op. 94bis and one of Prokofiev's most celebrated
works, Piano Sonata No. 7. The concert will also include the world premiere of a
specially commissioned piece by British composer Nathan Williamson.  

The concert will be performed by prizewinners of more than twenty international competitions whose origins range from Siberia to Estonia, from Kazakhstan to East Anglia.


Prokofiev: Five Poems, Op. 27 (Akhmatova)

Prokofiev: Sonata for violin and piano, Op. 94bis

N. Williamson: specially commissioned piece

Prokofiev: Sonata for two violins, Op. 56

 Prokofiev: Sonata No. 7 for piano, Op. 83



This concert is part of Bloomsbury Festival